Let’s Keep the Wrinkles at a Minimum Please, Thanks: My Anti-Aging Skincare Routine

     Approaching thirty can send one through a psychological trip that’s only fueled by societal acceptance. “What am I dong with my life?” “I should have this, this and that by now..” “Shouldn’t I be further in my 5 year plan??” Really quick, let me just say, you are exactly where you need to be, right now. Always remember, “If you’re not happy, then its not over yet.” And while we can’t reach all of our goals overnight, we can help rejuvenate our skin. Lol  it’s a beauty blog, you should’ve known it was going to head this way soon…. 8)

I must confess, I am not the best when it comes to night time routines for my skin. And like I just mentioned, 30 is pretty much around the corner! :/ In actuality, women should start an anti-aging regimen at the age of 25. So I’m actually a bit behind. However, I refuse to look like Snow White’s evil stepmother (yeah…. when she ain’t so fair amongst the fairest….. . . . .) and have gathered old favorites with new favorites and finally have my nighttime skin care line up. I would also like to add, I did not spend an arm and a leg for these products. This post today is to also show you CAN find awesome products without spending your whole paycheck, but also finding quality ingredients that do the job and do it well. My skin type changes throughout the year, but I usually have combination skin. Dry around my mouth and the corner of my nose, oily in my T zone (across the forehead and down the middle of my nose.)


Remove Make up

First, I remove my make up. I find Coconut oil works best. I’ve tried wipes and make up removers before. To me coconut oil gets make up off the fastest and its so pure, I don’t question what I’m putting on my skin. I usually use tissue to wipe off the oil. Using a soft rag is okay, but I try to avoid it because it is just added exfoliation to the skin, which could be harmful.

Cleansing

So this is an old favorite. I use Burt’s Bees Radiance Facial Cleanser with Royal Jelly. I love the jelly like consistency of it and it doesn’t leave my face feeling stripped or dry after use. The royal jelly helps enhance my natural radiance and eliminates some dullness I often get from the crazy free radicals out there in the world. Eww.

Exfoliator

I’m not sure if this product is truly an exfoliator by category, but that’s what I get out of it plus so much more! I use Tea Face by Your Tea. It’ an all natural, cruelty free product made with Patchouli oil and Your Tea’s Tiny Tea granules. The patchouli oil has so many benefits like tightening the skin, healing old scar tissue, and stimulating new cell growth. After applying it to my face, I really noticed he great smell and the tightening/lifting action. Then when I rinsed it off, my skin felt incredibly clean and smooth. Once again not dry or stripped. And it wasn’t tight after rinsing, so that was a great sign! Since it’s all natural, I put it back in the fridge and it waits for me to repeat three times a week.

Spot Treatment

Underneath my eyes can get very puffy. I love Arbonne’s Corrective Eye Cream. This is also an all natural product. I see results FAST with this cream. Within a week, the puffiness starts to go down and it also gets rid of dark circles. After applying, my skin gets a warming reaction, which I like. I feel like it’s actually working.

Moisturizer

Lastly, I use Mario Badescu Collagen Moisturizer SPF 15. This cream helps protect my skin from UVA/UVB light and the collagen keeps my skin looking youthful by maintaining its firmness and keeping it plump. Yes, I use SPF at night. This is also my daytime moisturizer( I like it THAT much) I even apply this  cream to my lips to help those suckers out too.

By the end of all this, my skin literally feels like satin, has an awesome glow and doesn’t feel oily or heavy. By this time I’m all ready for bed and did my part in helping me skin rejuvinate itself overnight while I am deep in a dream filed slumber. In the morning, I’ll be singin’ Beyonce’s “I woke up like this” jingle and ready to kick ass on that five year plan. Thirty will be awesome! I hope you give these products a try and please give me some feedback on your thoughts or questions about them.

Night night Beauts xo

Leave a comment